Hainan geography

Hainan Island lies at the southern tip of China. It is located far from the interior of mainland China, so it was called "the Edge of the Earth" in ancient times. However the island in fact has an advantageous geographical location. It is situated right at the center of the Asia-Pacific Economic Ring, lies just across the Qingzhou Strait from Guangdong Province to the North and across the Gulf of Tonkin from Vietnam to the West. The island is close to Hong Kong in the east and Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia and the Philippines in the south. All the above countries and territories can be reached in a one to four hour flight from Hainan.


Hainan Island is the second largest island in China, covering 35,100 square kilometers of land and governing an ocean territory of over 2.1 million square kilometers. Eight cities come under the jurisdiction of Hainan Province: Haikou, Sanya, Wenchang, Qionghai, Wanning, Wuzhishan, Danzhou and Dongfang. Hainan has four counties: Anding, Tunchang, Chengmai and Linggao and six autonomous counties: Lingshui, Qiongzhong, Baoting, Ledong, Baisha and Changjiang. There are county-level representative offices in the Xisha (Paracel) Islands, Nansha (Spratly) Islands and Zhongsha (Macclesfield Bank) Islands. The province has a population of 8.5 million, including 1.3 million people of ethnic minorities, such as the Li people, Miao people and Hui Muslims. Haikou is the capital city of Hainan Province.




Resources from Government Official Website

 Contact us:

 Address: Room303, Building4,  ZhongHeng Square, HeDong Road,  Sanya572000, China

 Tel: +86-898-88259975

 Fax: +86-898-88259974

 Skype: sanyahorizontravel
 E-mail: horizontravelsy@hotmail.com